Thorens TD 166 MK II Suspension?

I found a pretty close to mint one of these the other day for $12.
Anyway should the suspension springs be upgraded/replaced? Seems a bit bouncy to me. This deck was clearly cared for. It was in the original box. I bet it came out of a storage unit.
It works, and sounds great.
I have no personnel experience with Thorens.
My biggest complaint is the spindle. I have had to push records down onto the spindle.
It sounds great. Although I like my Luxman PD 272 very much.
laviathon
I have one,sounds good is good.
Mine sounds better than my Rega 2,the 166 mk II is a very synergistic design,far better than most think.
But that spindle is a pain. Some records, not all have to be pushed down onto the spindle though.
It does sound nice. I have to get a new stylus. I would like to replace the one that's on there now.
Sonus I believe. I think it's the original cartridge.
I have a Grado that I could buy a stylus for.
With the spindle issue I will go back to the Luxman. I think the Luxman is a superior deck.
Post removed 
Before you give up on it, try it without any platter mat. Yes, right on the bare metal platter. Be sure to lower the arm first to compensate for the VTA difference. I have noticed the problem with the too fat spindle, but it only bothers me on a few records, so this never mattered too much. Also, are you sure you should judge it inferior without treating it to a better cartridge?
That Luxman deck is very well built. Sounds great. It's because the Lux decks were made with only a few of them being upgradable that they don't get much fanfare with the exception of a few models.
The Thorens sounds great. But I should take my records and play them on the bare metal platter? That won't solve anything except cause me to have to push the record further down on the spindle. I have a valuable record collection that I would like to keep nice.
I have records I would like to play without pushing them down on that half ass spindle.