Krell S1200- Among the best sounding processors?

Seriously thinking of buying one for primarily multi channel audio and processed stereo. Is this about as good as it gets when used with the matching Krell S1500 amp? I am new to this arena being a long time two channel guy. FWIW I was told by a legit source that the similar Classe gear wasn't competitive sonically. I have no idea and would like to hear from those who know concerning multi channel gear at this level where audio is the focus. Thanks for any thoughts on this.
WOW !!! I have not heard the Krell S1200..I have heard the Classe SSP-800 processor in a surround set up with some older Classe amps through B&W 802's and the sound was incredible. The Classe processor is regarded as one of the best....Having said that I also love krell products as I use Krell Amps in both my 2 channel and Theater systems. I would imagine the S1200 would also be incredible but as I said i have not heard it.
I do not know who your "legit source" is but he is entitled to his opinion even though it is not universally shared. There are a lot of good options at that price and less, including the excellent Classe. (BTW, I have not used the S1200, only the 707.)

Kal
Anthem would be my choice, Krell is big player in 2 channel but I think Anthem is a better player in the desired application.
Kr4. I truly have no bias and want opinions to help in deciding. My legit source carries B&W and hence could carry Classe but simply said that it wasn't competitive sonically to the Krell gear. I have no idea and can imagine some dealer bias at play. I have zero preference and just want the best audio possible. True story.
Try the Anthem D2V, it has great DACs, Room correction and serious video side aswell.